The Best of Both Worlds?

Today was an important one. I’m an elementary teacher and March 1 was the deadline to apply to work part-time for the upcoming academic year. Before I go further, I must say that I am very thankful that I have a secure job, with amazing benefits and relatively flexible work hours! I know it is a huge perk to even have this option in the first place. Second, I LOVE my job and have passionately wanted to be a teacher for as long as I can remember, but since becoming a mommy my dreams have changed slightly. Part of my heart always hurts when I have to drop off my daughter at pre-school, knowing how odd it is that I pay someone to teach her during the day while I go off to teach other children.

After having a heart-to-heart with my boss, I submitted my application to work part-time for one year and now wait patiently to see if it will be approved. Will this lead to feeling like I have the best of both worlds – keeping my career moving ahead while balancing parenthood and household management? I am grateful knowing that I even have the opportunity to spend more time at home with my daughter and return to full-time work later. Regardless of your position, I think the best part of being a parent is being able to watch your child learn! Make the most of the time you have with your children, especially when they are young and view you as the centre of their world!

Image

This entry was posted in education/learning and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Comment

